News

I'm very glad to present my latest releases currently published by Edition Svitzer in Copenhagen: The first edition of my piano sonata Pentagramme , my Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra Impressionen  and my homage to Beethoven Beethomorphose.

Works by Thomas M. J. Schäfer released at Edition Svitzer

New works on my website: the easy and simple Mass setting Missa simplex  as well as secular choral works: compositions and arrangements based on texts by Wilhelm Busch, Erich Kästner and others.

Latest edition of the edition riedl : Erich Kästner's "Noise In The Mirror" for Mezzosoprano & Piano.

Thomas M. J. Schäfer

composer & conductor

A warm welcome to my website! Here you can gain insight into my work as a composer as well as a conductor. Together with my ensembles I cover a wide stylistic range of music – music of all epochs performed with different musical groups. Still, despite the almost infinite number of available works, sometimes there is the need and desire to create a new piece of music –the perfect music for a special occasion or a particular ensemble.

So, let me invite you to search through my compositions and to discover my music! At different pages you can find my works for choir, orchestra and also chamber music – within that last category you can also have a look at my works for solo instruments. Finally, in a fourth category my New Spiritual Songs are presented.

For each composition a free sample score is available and for most works you can also find an audio file providing a first audio impression. Besides original compositions, you can also rummage through arrangements for various musical ensembles. If you felt like performing some of my music, I’d be happy about you getting in touch with me!

As a composer I use all styles and forms of the last millennium, thus trying to create a new musical language. To me, composing is both improvisation and construction, cognitively playing with different possibilities as well as impulsiveness and intuition.

Would you like to have a composition written for you or your ensemble? I’d like to get into conversation with you and I’ll compose an individually tailored work! An anniversary of you choir or orchestra or any other special occasion might be crowned with the premiere of the commissioned work.

Last but not least, I would like to illustrate my work as a conductor by presenting my ensembles. So, please join us at any of the upcoming projects and concerts, either by listening or by taking part as a musician!

On my homepage I also present the edition riedl , in which you will find the works of the Hamburg composer Hartwig Riedl, whose style is a modern interpretation of classical-romantic tonal language. There is already a lot to discover, the edition will be further expanded.

I hope you’ll enjoy discovering the music...

Thomas M. J. Schäfer

Church services and concerts online

Covert for Organ and String Orchestra

Concert for Organ and String Orchestra with works by Francis Poulenc, Thomas M. J. Schäfer and Jon Laukvik - Live stream recording available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37mrd-52rbc&t=0s

Easter Vigil 2021 as recording: https://youtu.be/xVVQ_dLCgmw

Family service with my Easter song "Brannte uns nicht das Herz" on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJ6VqNbkYr4

Welfare and Social Work church service "Sehnsucht nach Leben" including my song with this title, sung at [1:02:40] by Annika Schweizer and Carsten Beneke: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=slK_VqjiBgc

Services of the of the years 2020 and 2021 you can find here.

Aktuelles

Brandneu erschienen bei Edition Svitzer in Kopenhagen: Die Erstausgabe meiner Klaviersonate Pentagramme , mein Klarinettenkonzert Impressionen sowie Beethomorphose , meine Hommage an Ludwig van Beethoven.

Neue Werke auf meiner Website: die schlichte und einfache Messvertonung Missa simplex  sowie weltliche Chorwerke: Kompositionen und Arrangements nach Texten von Wilhelm Busch, Erich Kästner u.a.

Neueste Ausgabe der edition riedl : Erich Kästners „Lärm im Spiegel" für Mezzosopran & Klavier.

Thomas M. J. Schäfer

Komponist & Dirigent

Herzlich Willkommen auf meiner Homepage! Hier finden Sie Einblicke in meine Arbeit als Komponist und Dirigent. Mit meinen Ensembles führe ich eine große stilistische Bandbreite an Musik aller Epochen in den unterschiedlichsten Besetzungen auf – doch da, wo die unendliche Fülle an Werken, die uns heute zur Verfügung steht, nicht mehr ausreicht, um die richtige Musik im rechten Augenblick zu machen, entsteht der Impuls, neue Musik zu machen, also originär kreativ zu werden.

Ich lade Sie ein, in meinen Kompositionen zu stöbern und meine Musik zu entdecken! Auf verschiedenen Seiten finden Sie meine Werke für Chor, Orchester und Kammermusik – unter letzterer Kategorie auch Solowerke. Eine vierte Kategorie stellt meine Neuen Geistlichen Lieder vor. Zu jeder Komposition steht Ihnen eine kostenlose Probepartitur zur Verfügung und meist auch ein Audiofile zum Probehören. Neben originären Kompositionen finden Sie auch Bearbeitungen für verschiedene Besetzungen. Sollten Sie Lust bekommen haben, meine Musik aufzuführen, würde ich mich sehr freuen, wenn Sie mit mir in Kontakt treten!

In meiner Tonsprache als Komponist schöpfe ich aus allen Stilen und Formen des letzten Jahrtausends und versuche auf diesem Weg, eine neue Klangsprache zu kreieren. Komposition ist für mich gleichermaßen Improvisation wie Konstruktion, kognitives Spiel mit den Möglichkeiten sowie Impulsivität und Intuition.

Haben Sie Lust, eine Komposition für sich oder Ihr Ensemble in Auftrag zu geben? Gerne komme ich mit Ihnen ins Gespräch uns schreibe für Sie ein individuell zugeschnittenes Werk! So können Sie z.B. ein Jubiläum Ihres Chores oder Orchesters oder ein anderes besonderes Ereignis mit der Uraufführung einer Auftragskomposition krönen.

Nicht zuletzt möchte ich hier auch meine dirigentischen Aktivitäten vorstellen. Lernen Sie meine Ensembles kennen und seien Sie eingeladen, bei meinen nächsten Projekten und Konzerten im Publikum – oder sogar mitwirkend – dabei zu sein!

Auf meiner Homepage präsentiere ich außerdem die edition riedl , in der Sie die Werke des Hamburger Komponisten Hartwig Riedl finden, dessen Stil eine moderne Interpretation klassisch-romantischer Tonsprache ist. Einiges gibt es schon zu entdecken, die Edition wird weiter ausgebaut.

Viel Freude beim Entdecken der Musik wünscht Ihnen

Thomas M. J. Schäfer

Gottesdienste und Konzerte online

Konzert für Orgel und Streichorchester

Konzert für Orgel und Streichorchester mit Werken von Francis Poulenc, Thomas M. J. Schäfer und Jon Laukvik - Aufzeichnung des Livestreams verfügbar unter: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37mrd-52rbc&t=0s

Livestream der Osternacht 2021 - Aufzeichnung verfügbar unter https://youtu.be/xVVQ_dLCgmw

Ich freue mich, dass mein österliches Lied "Brannte uns nicht das Herz" beim Familiengottesdienst am Ostermontag, 5. April 2021 in Marktheidenfeld erklungen ist. Der Gottesdienst kann hier angeschaut werden: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJ6VqNbkYr4

Diakonie-Gottesdienst unter dem Motto "Sehnsucht nach Leben" mit meinem gleichnamigen Song, den Annika Schweizer und Carsten Beneke bei [1:02:40] singen: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=slK_VqjiBgc

Weitere Gottesdienste hier und immer aktuell unter: www.se-rosenstein.de/gottesdienste.